The 2022 Municipal election is approaching, and Kenora could see a complete transformation in leadership. 

The deadline for candidates to file their nominations has passed, which shows three residents up for Mayor, while 15 candidates will vie for City Council.

Kenora will have a new Mayor after Dan Reynard announced his decision to not run in this year's election. 

Current City Councillor Andrew Poirier enters the race for Mayor along with Kenora & District Chamber of Commerce President Andy Scribilo and David Byers-Kitt, a Kenora resident of 56 years.

City Council will also see new faces as only three current councillors have submitted their bids. Graham Chaze, Sharon Smith and Mort Goss will try to get one of six seats offered. Councillors Rory McMillan and Chris Van Welleghem will not run in October's election. 

Other applicants for council include; Lindsay Koch, Kelsie Van Belleghem, Mark LaBelle, Cecile Marcino, Chris Poate, Louis Roussin, Logan Haney, Barb Monson, Joel McGrath, Bob Bernie, Lisa Moncrief and Mark Perrault. 

David Cornish and Robert Kitowski have their names in for the English Public School Board Trustees. The number of nominations for the English Public School Board office is less than the number of candidates to be elected (3). Candidates may file additional nominations for this underfilled office between 9:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, August 24, with Heather L. Pihulak, City Clerk/Returning Officer, at 807-467-2295.

English Catholic School Board Trustees are already set as five seats were offered. Teresa Gallik, Paul Landry, Marie Lundin, Lorne Temple and Derek Favreau will sit on the board following the election. Madeleine Oakes will be elected as Frech Catholic School Board Trustee. 

The municipal election will take place October 24.