A returning face is hoping to get re-elected in Kenora.

City councillor Sharon Smith has confirmed she has filed her nomination forms to once again run and hopefully be re-elected as a councillor in this fall’s municipal election.

Smith was first elected as a city councillor in 2010 and was re-elected in both the 2014 and 2018 elections by the Kenora community. The long-time councillor and Keewatin resident is a former Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry staff member.

During her most recent term, Smith has served on a variety of boards for the city, including the Northwestern Health Unit, Accessibility Advisory Committee, the Kenora Urban Trails Committee, the Sustainability Advisory Committee and the All Nations Health Partners.

Smith is one of the few remaining Kenora council members to have filed their re-election forms.

Graham Chaze, who was appointed to council in 2021 after Kirsi Ralko’s departure, has also filed his nomination papers to once again become a councillor, and incumbent councillor Andrew Poirier is now running for Mayor.

But Mayor Dan Reynard, as well as councillors Chris Van Walleghem and Rory McMillan, have all confirmed they will not be letting their name stand in this fall’s election. Reynard has opted to keep his decisions private, while Van Walleghem and McMillan are looking ahead to retirement from politics.

As it stands, that leaves incumbent councillor Mort Goss as the only remaining question mark.

But there are 11 nominees for the six seats on council in Kenora. As of August 15, they include: Bob Bernie, Joel McGrath, Barbara Manson, Logan Haney, Louis Roussin, Chris Poate, Cecile Marcino, Mark LaBelle, Kelsie Van Belleghem and Lindsay Koch.

Nominees for Mayor include Poirier, as well as Andy Scribilo and David Byers-Kitt.

The deadline for residents to file their nomination papers is Friday, August 19. The 2022 Municipal Election is set for October 24, 2022, with in-person, online and by-phone voting.